Node Status: Untested ...

The forum for help and support with FreeNATS as well as any useful hints and tips
Post Reply
transattic
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:46 am

Node Status: Untested ...

Post by transattic » Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:17 am

So I created a new Node with hostname 192.168.8.100 (tried 127.0.0.1 also) with node enabled, 5 min intervals, and ping test checked. I added 2 tests:

-- remote ping test --
IP - 208.94.117.108 (pingable from VM),
test interval 1min,
custom attempts 5,
test enabled, recorded, and simple eval checked.

-- web size test --
Address http://www.firelite.net (pingable from VM),
test interval 1min,
custom attempts 5,
test enabled, recorded, and simple eval checked.

Stays "Last Tested: never" even after it's been 20 mins. Tried rebooting.

I couldn't find anything in the docs regarding this issue. How should I initiate the go?

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by dave » Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:28 pm

Hi,

Are you using the VM? If so then it should fire automatically.

Try running the script manually:

- login as root
- cd to /opt/freenats/server/bin
- do: php tester.php <nodeid>
(where <nodeid> is the nodeid you want to test)

See what outputs. If it's not running it should be pretty obvious why.

Let me know what that outputs for your node. If it works but it still doesn't get tested every five minutes then perhaps cron has died?

Regards,

Dave.

transattic
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:46 am

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by transattic » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:26 am

entered:

Code: Select all

cd  /opt/freenats/server/bin 
php tester.php node2
returns:

Code: Select all

-bash: php command not found
I'm assuming PHP isn't installed or working.

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by dave » Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:31 pm

Hi,

Are you using the FreeNATS VM? PHP should be in the search path if so. I've just booted up a copy and it works fine.

Try doing a: ./tester.sh <nodeid>

If you are using the FreeNATS VM is it version 4.0?

If you're not using the FreeNATS VM and did a source install onto your own system then PHP will need to be in the search-path (as a command-line binary).

Cheers,

Dave.

transattic
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:46 am

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by transattic » Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:32 am

Ok so I typed in the bin folder:

Code: Select all

./tester.sh
returned:

Code: Select all

./tester.sh: line2: php: command not found
I am indeed using the FreeNATS Appliance 4.0 and updated it as directed.

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by dave » Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:17 pm

Hi,

That is very strange - looks like PHP isn't installed for command-line use.

Hmm... I wonder if I mucked up that VM though my image here looks ok. Sadly I'm on GRPS for the moment and so can't download the online image - my local copy of that version works fine though.

Can you try the three conary steps detailed in this post: http://www.purplepixie.org/freenats/news.php?id=80

This should install/update PHP and hopefully fix your problem.

Cheers,

Dave.

transattic
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:46 am

Re: Node Status: Untested ... works

Post by transattic » Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:39 am

All good to go! Thanks Dave! :D

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Node Status: Untested ...

Post by dave » Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:54 am

You're welcome though it shouldn't have happened in the first place. When I get a chance and some actual bandwidth I'll download the online VM and see if I can replicate.

Anyway - I'm glad it's working now.

Regards,

Dave.

Post Reply